Kentucky Derby 2023
| |

Kentucky Derby 2023 – Everything You Need To Know

The 149th edition of the Kentucky Derby is just around the corner, welcoming the world’s top jockeys and horses at one of the most prominent horse races on the calendar. Here is everything you need to know about the Run for the Roses.

When Is The Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby 2023 is scheduled to take place on Saturday, May 6, 2023, at 6:50 pm Eastern Time.

Where Is The Kentucky Derby?

Kentucky Derby 2023 will return to the usual stop at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The Churchill Downs has hosted the race since its inception in 1875 annually and for the 149th time in 2023.

Where Can I Watch The Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby 2023 will be broadcasted on NBC, NBC Sports, and the NBC Sports app.

Who Will Race In The Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby 2023 will welcome 20 three-year-old thoroughbreds who have qualified for the race via Road to Kentucky Derby prep races.

Besides the 20 qualified horses, there are also four eligible horses who get a spot in the race if any of the trainers decide to withdraw their horse due to an injury or because they don’t feel like the race is a good fit.

Who Are The Favourites To Win The Kentucky Derby?

The leading candidate to win the 2023 Kentucky Derby is Forte (3.75 at bet365), who won five races ahead of the race. That includes the Florida Derby, Gulfstream Park, and Fountain of Youth.

Forte is followed by Tapit Trice and Angel of Empire in third. However, as always, we can expect the odds to shift before the race kicks off.

Horse / BookmakerBet365Pinnacle
Tapit Trice6.007.850
Angel of Empire8.006.240
Derma Sotogake11.009.00
Two Phill’s12.0015.01
Mandarin Hero15.0026.03
Rocket Can41.0041.04
Hit Show29.0041.04
Confidence Game34.0019.01
Lord Miles26.00
Jace’s Road41.0046.04
Cyclone Mischief41.0031.03
Sun Thunder51.0031.03
King Russell51.0061.03
Raise Cain67.0046.04

How Long Is The Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is run at 10 furlongs (2011,7 meters, or 1/4 mile). That makes is shorter than the Belmont Stake (12 furlongs) but longer than the Preakness Stakes (9.5 furlongs)

What’s The Prize Pool At The Kentucky Derby?

The prize pool for the 2023 Kentucky Derby is $3 million. The winner will collect $1.86 million, with the rest of the prize pool split among the top five finishers.

Typically, the majority of the prize pool goes to the owner of the horse (approximately 80%), with the remaining winnings (approximately 20%) split between the trainer and the jockey.

  • Winner – $1.86 million
  • Runner-Up – $600,000
  • Third place – $300,000
  • Fourth place – $150,000
  • Fifth place – $90,000

Who Won The Last Kentucky Derby?

The 2022 Kentucky Derby was won by Red Strike in one of the biggest upsets in history. Red Strike didn’t even qualify for the race before the Friday before the Kentucky Derby and had not won anything since the previous September and ran at odds of 81.00.

By winning the 2022 Kentucky Derby, Red Strike became a horse with the second-longest odds in history to win the race, behind Donerail, who won the 1913 Kentucky Derby at 91.00 odds.

Last Five Kentucky Derby Winners

  • 2022 – Red Strike
  • 2021 – Mandaloun
  • 2020 – Authentic
  • 2019 – Country House
  • 2018 – Justify (triple crown)

Where Can I Bet On The Kentucky Derby?

You can bet on the Kentucky Derby on any online sportsbook, including bet365, William Hill, Unibet, sharps (Pinnacle), and betting exchanges such as Betfair (alternative: Orbit)

As one of the biggest horse racing events of the year, Kentucky Derby is extremely well covered by all online betting sites, making it harder to find a sportsbook which doesn’t offer Kentucky Derby odds than one which does.

What Is “The Run of Roses”?

The Run of Roses is another name for the Kentucky Derby, which was given to the race because the winner is draped with a garland of more than four hundred roses after the race.

Traditions - The Garland of Roses

The red rose was declared the official flower of the Kentucky Derby in 1904, which 21 years later led a New York sports columnist, Bill Corum, to coin the Kentucky Derby as “Run of Roses” – a nickname that stuck with the race ever since.

What Is The Triple Crown?

Triple Crown is a name given to a series of horse races for three-year-old thoroughbreds, including the Preakness Stakes, the Belmont Stakes, and the Kentucky Derby. Kentucky Derby 2023 is the first leg of the Triple Crown, and the first of three races a horse must win (in a single year) to claim the Triple Crown.

Due to it being the first race, the winner of the Kentucky Derby is immediately pushed under the spotlight as a potential Triple Crown winner; however, to date, only a few horses have ever achieved the accomplishment.

Triple Crown Winners

Since 1919, when Sir Barton won the first Triple Crown, there have been 13 horses to follow suit, and only two won the Triple Crown in the 21st century.

  • 1919 – Sir Barton
  • 1930 – Gallant Fox
  • 1935 – Omaha
  • 1937 – War Admiral
  • 1941 – Whirlaway
  • 1943 – Count Fleet
  • 1946 – Assault
  • 1948 – Citation
  • 1973 – Secretariat
  • 1977 – Affirmed
  • 2015 – American Pharoah
  • 2018 – Justify


When is the 2023 Kentucky Derby?

The 2023 Kentucky Derby is scheduled to take place on Saturday, May 6, at Churchill Downs in Louisiana, Kentucky.

Who won the last Kentucky Derby?

The 2022 Kentucky Derby was won by Red Strike, who upset the field at odds of 81.00. With that, Red Strike became only the second horse priced at 80 or over to win the race, behind Donerail, who won the 1913 Kentucky Derby at 91.00

Where can you bet on the Kentucky Derby?

You can bet on the Kentucky Derby on all online sports betting sites, bet365, William Hill, SkyBet, Unibet, BetMGM, sharp bookmakers such as Pinnacle, and on betting exchanges such as Betfair, Smarkets, and Betdaq.

Similar Posts